Necessity

20. Something you can’t live without.

Let’s face it, I *can* live without my iPhone. I totally agree with all the haters about how it’s a time suck and perpetuates non face to face interaction and how it doesn’t let you disconnect or just BE.

But when I was doing endless feedings in the middle of the night, it kept me awake enough so that I wouldn’t drop the baby.

And when max used my reader as a hammer, iBooks saved the day. Because if it’s one thing I really can’t live without, it’s books.

20120520-115801.jpg

That’s what I really can’t live without. I’ve been a voracious reader for as long as I can remember. There is nothing and no where you can’t do or go to if you read. Simple as that.

One of the most important legacies I can give my children is an appreciation for reading. I hope they enjoy it half as much as I do.

And I won’t start the debate vs “real” books and ebooks. I love both, I buy both. You can’t beat the smell and feel and tactile experience of holding an actual book. And neither can you beat carrying your library of 400+ books in your pocket.

Get reading!

Posted on May 20, 2012, in #photoadaymay, musings, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

